What Are The Power 6 Conferences?


In contrast to the Power 5 Conferences, which mostly pertain to the structure of college football, the Power 6 Conferences refer to the six major conferences in college basketball.

In short, the Power Five Conferences are included in this designation with the addition of one more league: the Big East Conference.

Big East Conference For Basketball

The Big East is considered one of the top leagues in college basketball. They have several National Championship contenders every season, giving them the label of a ‘power conference’.

The Big East football conference disbanded in 2013 as numerous teams left for greener pastures.

The leftover teams and several new additions now make up the American Atheltic Conference (AAC) in NCAA Division I football.

However, the Big East Conference lives on for basketball. Here are the current members:

  • Butler Bulldogs
  • Connecticut Huskies
  • Creighton Bluejays
  • DePaul Blue Demons
  • Georgetown Hoyas
  • Marquette Golden Eagles
  • St. John’s Red Storm
  • Providence Friars
  • Villanova Wildcats
  • Seton Hall Pirates
  • Xavier Muskateers

As you can see, there are 11 full members of the Big East Conference. Even though this league does not compete for football, they still generate a ton of interest in college hoops.

Upon its founding in 2013, the Big East signed a six-year television contract with CBS Sports and a 12-year contract with Fox Sports